Oceania Directory

“Don't worry about the world coming to an end today.
It is already tomorrow in Australia.”

~ Charles M. Schulz

Oceania is an area of the Pacific Ocean that includes Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, The Solomon Islands, Polynesia, New Guinea and a number of islands and dependencies. It covers some 3.2 million square miles, with the majority of it being water.

The ISOOSI Oceania directory is a collection of links pertaining to the region including educational links, business, commercial, products, services, cultural, tourism and links from organizations of all kinds.

Australia and some of the islands that make up Oceania were settled between 40,000 and 125,000 years ago. Indigenous Australian people made their way down from Africa, across Asia, across the Pacific Ocean and settled on the outside of the continent. They gradually spread across the various islands between 1800 BC and as late as 1000 AD.

Australia was explored by Ferdinand Magellan and others during the European exploration and settled during the 18th and 19th centuries. The British settled Australia first, then New Zealand, then New Guinea. Samoa followed in 1900.

The U.S. also settled in Oceania when we landed on Baker Island and Howland Island in 1857 and when we annexed Hawaii in 1898. The French took French Polynesia and the Germans settled islands too, which were removed after the First World War. Now many islands are independent or part of the British Commonwealth.

If you’re interested in the region, our Oceania directory is for you. There are thousands of links here, all waiting to be explored.

To add your URL to the ISOOSI Oceania Directory, click here.